Friday, April 10, 2009


Iziko South African National Gallery

Ahmet Ögüt, Chiara Pirito, Cristina Lucas, Erik Olofsen, Fernando Sánchez Cástillo, Francessca Grilli, Im Go Eun, Greg Streak, Guido van der Werve, Jakup Ferri, Kuang Yu Tsui, Marco Pando, Marianne Flotron, Maze de Boer, Meiro Koizumi, Meiya Lin, Michael Blum, Mounira Al Solh, Nicoline van Harskamp, Owen Oppenheimer, Paulien Oltheten, Persijn Broersen / Margit Lukács, Sascha Pohle, Sefer Memisoglu, Siree van der Velde, Sookoon Ang, Zachary Formwalt

The Iziko South African National Gallery is proud to host DIS-EASE: a new generation of video art from the Rijksakademie archives. Taking place from 6 April until 28 June 2009, the video compilation screening reflects on the power of the medium, both in terms of content and articulation, as explored by some twenty-seven artists of seventeen different nationalities.

DIS-EASE was curated by Durban-based artist and curator, Greg Streak, while on a visit to Amsterdam in early 2008. Streak, representing the artist run initiative PULSE, partnered with the Rijksakademie and Bank Gallery, Durban, to produce the show.